top of page

The Best Book Covers Of September

Fall is my favorite season. Not just because the leaves turn startling shades of orange and red but because new books are in the chilly air. Starting this month I am going to have a segment where I chose my top four favorite book release covers of the season!

Kingdom of Ash and Briars by Hannah West This book cover has to be my favorite of September. I am really feeling the Red Riding Hood vibes with the cloak and eerie woods. This book is about Bristol, an orphaned kitchen maid who falls into a spooky fairy-tale like realm. In this world, she learns that she has special powers. (Am I the only one connecting this to Alice In Wonderland?) According to Goodreads, this book is supposed to pull together aspects of Sleeping Beauty, Cinderella, Mulan and Jane Austen's Emma. This book was released on September 15th, 2016 by Holiday House, Inc.

The Last True Love Story by Brendan Kiely This book is about two distraught teens who fall in love. The cover looks a little like Van Gogh's Starry Night and I think that's pretty awesome! I also like the handwriting style font. Overall, this cover is pretty great. This book was published on September 13th, 2016 by Margaret K. McElderry Books.

A Shadow Bright and Burning by Jessica Cluess This book is about magic and sorcery. What I love the most about this cover is how the word "burning" is transcending into the flames. It really looks cool! I also love the blue smoke, it looks bright and contrasts really well with the pitch black background. This book was published on September 20th, 2016 by Random House BFYR.

The Graces by Laure Eve The Graces by Laure Eve looks very 1920s to me! I love all the gold and the very Hollywood feeling of the fonts. The Graces is a thriller about witch like creatures that everyone in River's town is obsessed with. Overall, this books blurb is vague but I am feeling the Halloween vibes. If you need a seat on the spooky train, make sure to pick this book up. The Graces was released on September 1st, 2016 by Faber & Faber.

What are your favorite book covers that were released in September? Are they one of the ones above?

-Ella

bottom of page