top of page

The Land Of Stories By Chris Colfer


​​

Once upon a time, a beloved grandmother gifted her grandchildren a seemingly harmless book. Yet, the book was like to an airplane, it transported the twins to a new land where fairytales were real! Once the twins enter this fairytale land they discover the "happily" ever afters of prominent fairytale figures like: Red Riding Hood and Cinderella.

When I first picked up this book I was looking for a light read and discovered much more. The Land of Stories was a thrilling book! The characters really brought you on their journey in this fairytale land. On the other hand, the plot was very simple and predictable. I would advise you to read this book if you are looking for a light read on a relaxing summer day. At first I found one of the twins, Alex, to be a bit annoying. Alex seemed to be a very one dimensional figure. She loved reading and was very smart. I have read about the same personality type in many books. Yet, as I read more she became a lot more then the stereotypical perfectionist. By the end she had many layers and added depth to the story. Her twin, Connor, I felt the same way about. At the start of the book, he was the stereotypical class clown who issues with learning. Read that, been there! Yet, by the end it was thrilling to see these 2 twins, who could not be more different, work together through easy and hard times. Being a twin, I felt like I could relate to parts of Conner and Alex's relationship which made the book really enjoyable and funny for me. Overall, the book had an AMAZING first chapter, decent middle, and thrilling end!

- Interesting concept

- Fun read

- Nice development of characters

- Awesome first chapter!!!

- Jumps right into the action

- The plot is very simple

- Conflicts in book take a while to overcome

- The conflicts in the middle seemed to repeat over and over again :(

By: Margot


bottom of page