top of page

Rapid Review #1: A Mad Wicked Folly and Cinder


Hello, world! Todays post is my first "rapid review" and just like it's title I will be rapidly reviewing two books, both of which I read recently

1) Cinder

Cinder wasn't exactly what I expected it no be like...

First of all and most importantly, the characters did not appeal to me! "Amazing" Prince Kai was aggravating and painful to read about. If a girl says no to going to the ball with you, it means NO, not MAYBE!!!!!! Worst of all, his romance with Cinder was a cringe worthy insta love rollercoaster built on lies and falsehood. Although the idea of New Beijing is brilliant and creative it was executed terribly. This book toke place in China yet the closest thing to Chinese culture was one ginger wonton! Overall, this book did not live up to the hype, five-star reviews, and exclamation points.

2) A Mad Wicked Folly

I absolutely adore historical fiction books, thus, when I found this book, I read it instantly! A Mad Wicked Folly was full of fascinating information, ART, suffrage, and a realistic romance. Although the protagonist, Victoria, was a little naive and self-concerned, it didn't take away from the quality of this book.

-Ella

bottom of page