top of page

Is Insta Love Really That Bad?

A common YA trope that you will see in a variety of books is when two characters meet each other and fall in "love" at an unrealistic pace. This trope is commonly referred to as the most annoying thing on earth-err I mean: Insta love!

1) Why does everyone hate it? Sure, insta love can make you go insane because something like legitimate instant love (even if the book your reading is fantasy) could NEVER happen but if you ship the characters from the start is it really that bad? I mean you do want the characters to be together...

2) I think that hating or loving insta love is all perception If you're someone who likes books because of action and action only then sure you probably don't mind insta love but if your someone who likes world building, plot, characters and other bookish things then you probably don't mind insta love but if your someone who likes world building, plot, characters and other bookish things then you probably hate insta love. I also think that people can't only love or hate insta love. Insta love is like ice cream, everyone loves ice cream but that doesn't mean you love all flavors of ice cream! For example, I love a good romance but I don't like all romances! 3) Is it ever okay to use insta love if it's done well? Insta love is a problem because it's the result of a badly written romance so in a way no, it is not okay to have insta love! Plus its:

A) It's unrealistic! I'm not declaring my love to next boy I see! (I mean, USE LOGIC!)

B) It's annoying and takes away from the reading experience and makes "cute" moments aggravating and once again, unrealistic

So, overall even if you want two characters to be together, give it time and in the end, it will not only be more realistic but better and cute!

Do you guys think insta love is the result of poor writing or something else entirely?

-Ella


bottom of page