top of page

The Age Old Debate: E-books Or Real Books?


Is technology really taking over real books or is it the other way around? Who knows? That's why we're going to talk about it! So, to see what everyone thought I contacted bloggers and readers on Goodreads and got their opinions!

Margot (Goodreads: @Margot A) says: "E-books are lighter which makes them easier to carry. You can get books with the touch a finger, you don't have to wait for an amazon box or drive to your local library or bookstore."

C (Goodreads @C) says: "I love both, but I'll be honest: I seem to do much better with ebooks. I read more of them and I read faster if I'm reading them on my Kindle. I still read paper books, of course...got 737 books and counting on my shelves!...but I seem to be able to focus on ebooks more. With paper ones, I get more distracted by other things, especially if I'm eating while reading."

1) Books are at the touch of your finger (ANY BOOK!) and you can get books instantly! 2) If you're traveling, e-books are lighter and you can bring 1000000000000000 books and it would feel like you were carrying one book! 3) For some reason, you read faster!

1) It doesn't smell like anything! Paper smells amazing and kindles/nooks/other e-book inventions smell like, well nothing. 2) The book covers are all tiny and colorless. 3) While traveling your e-book could be stolen by angry pirates.

Britney (Goodreads: @Britney) says: "Real Books for me"

I say (Goodreads: @Ella A) "my view changes all the time but overall nothing beats flipping the pages of a real book" (because that wasn't cheesy at all:)

Emily (doesn't have a Goodreads) Emily is my sister and she said: "I like real books because I can annotate for school"

Terry (Goodreads @Terry) says: "I prefer hard copy books, for my book shelves, to grab at will. E- books to take with me wherever I go on my phone. So, I have four hundred of each, which I bought from my "highest priority" list. I read whichever I feel like reading. I usually have three going at a time from both lists."

1) You are supporting your local library or bookstore which is amazing! 2) You get to see the book cover with all of its colorful wonderfulness! 3) You can use books as decoration on a bookshelf! Not only that but you can't bookstagram with an e-book!

1) Books are like bricks! They are REALLY heavy! 2) Books take up space, a lot of space! (Warning: excessive book buying will result in loss of storage around your home or bedroom) 3) Books are bad for the environment because of the amount of paper that is used!

Overall, It all comes to what feels right for YOU! Although this blog post showed that more people like real books if you like e-books better, you do you and no matter what we all love to read! Either way, your supporting authors and publishers everywhere which in the end, is the best thing that you can do as an avid reader! (If you don't support authors and publishers then no new books would come out, which is my worst nightmare as a bookworm!)

What do you guys think? Are you an e-book or real book person?

-Ella

PS. I'd like to give big thanks to everyone in the "No Judgement Book Club" on Goodreads, for submitting their responses of what they thought was better (e-books or real books) and why. This blog post couldn't have been possible without you:)


bottom of page