top of page

Review: A Wicked Thing by Rhiannon Thomas


One hundred years after falling asleep, Princess Aurora wakes up to the kiss of a handsome prince and a broken kingdom that has been dreaming of her return. All the books say that she should be living happily ever after. But as Aurora understands all too well, the truth is nothing like the fairy tale. Her family is long dead. Her "true love" is a kind stranger. And her whole life has been planned out by political foes while she slept. As Aurora struggles to make sense of her new world, she begins to fear that the curse has left its mark on her, a fiery and dangerous thing that might be as wicked as the witch who once ensnared her. With her wedding day drawing near, Aurora must make the ultimate decision on how to save her kingdom: marry the prince or run.

A Wicked Thing is a confusing book to review, so I'm going to attempt to get my, even more, confusing feelings about this book into this review by saying a few things I loved and a few things I didn't love.

Love: 1. Aurora was realistic for the situation she got put in. She wasn't in love with the Prince the moment she laid eyes on him. She was confused, lost and definitely didn't chose to be thrust into the world, 102 years after she fell asleep! This "new" world was a place where she had no say in who she was going to marry, do and live. She wasn't even allowed to leave the castle and I genuinely felt bad for her.

2. A new approach to Sleeping Beauty. I'll be honest, I don't read a lot of retellings so I could be wrong but from what I could tell this book put a fresh and reality infused spin on the story of Sleeping Beauty I feel in love with at a young age.

Things I did not love:

1. Aurora was a moderate special snowflake. No matter what way you slice it Aurora was a special snowflake in her own way. If you do not know what this is: A special snowflake is a character who has everything or receives everything. For example Aurora (SPOILER AHEAD) has magic and she was also awakened by the Prince. So even though I did feel bad for her, not everything went her way (that's for sure!) (SPOILER TIME OVER)

2. The pacing. I wouldn't say that this book was boring, per say but so much action, sorrow and wild emotion was thrown into the last 20-50 pages and I was left looking at the book without very much comprehension because so much happened and so fast! I wish that some of the action from the end was spread into the not as interesting parts so that the last 50 pages wouldn't have been such a mouthful.

3. The world building. The world building was enough to make me understand what was going on, I just feel like it could have been so much more interesting if more of the book was spent describing the world and less was about walks in the garden and awkward breakfasts (although they were interesting) I think that we might learn more about the world in the next book because of some stuff that happened in this book (I am trying so hard not to spoil anything right now!) And, there's going to be DRAGONS in the next book!!!!

Overall, this book was a pleasant read that was interesting and I will definitely be keeping my eye out for the next book which comes out on February 23rd, 2016

3.5 Hearts!

Are you guys exited for the sequel to A Wicked Thing and if you haven't read it do you plan on reading it?

Post by: Ella

bottom of page